Chocolate Chili from ‘Well Fed’ by Melissa Joulwan

During the cold months in Texas (I laughed at that phrase), I love making soups and stews. One dish that is often requested ’round here is chili. I’d stopped making it for a while because it was such a bore. Probably just a notch above fast-food chili. Blech.

So, imagine my surprise when I opened up Melissa Joulwan’s “Well Fed” cookbook and find not just this amazing recipe for chili, but CHOCOLATE chili. No, it’s not some crazy Willy Wonka concoction. The chocolate just adds depth to the slightly acidic chili powder in the seasoning. It is such a delicious dish and worth every minute of simmering. Whatever you do, DON’T skimp on time. Let it simmer for the full two hours (!).  You will not regret it.

Coconut oil and onions.

Brown that meat!

Brown that meat!

Add the spices!

Add the spices with the chocolate powder!

Mix in them tomaaahtoes.

Mix in them tomaaahtoes.

Next the broth.

Next the broth.

Let it simmer 2-3 hours. And you're donezo.

Let it simmer 2-3 hours. And you’re donezo. I added some cooked and diced sweet potato because I had some on hand.

The prep for this dish is ridiculously easy. All you need to do is make sure you have enough time to let it simmer. It really does take the flavors to another level.

Recipe HERE.

Serve with a big kale salad and you’re good to go.

2 thoughts on “Chocolate Chili from ‘Well Fed’ by Melissa Joulwan

    • *internal thoughts*
      OH MY GOD, SHE KNOWS I MADE IT.
      *what I really say*
      OH MY GOD YOU READ THAT I MADE IT.

      Serioulsy, though: thanks for reading. I really do love anything with chocolate. Chocolate and beef kind of made my day. Your book is a staple in my kitchen!

Leave a comment